Skip to content

COOKING PROJECTS FOR THE WEEKEND

February 2, 2014
Horseradish: Cleaned and ready for grating.

Horseradish: Cleaned and ready for grating.

Grating horseradish using the NURTiBULLET.  Oh so easy...

Grating horseradish using the NUTRiBULLET.  Oh so easy…

Cooking Projects for the weekend:

This weekend I discovered a new quick and fun thing for my NutriBullet.  I love horseradish but store bought horseradish can come with a few issues for me.  One is soy and the other is corn.  Neither of those things are on my “to eat” list.  A few weeks ago, I blew out my food processor and was just too lazy, snowed in or just blank minded to buy another one.  So I went out this week and picked up the biggest horseradish root in the market.  After it sat around for a few days, I decided to give it a good scrub and ready myself for the grating.   OMGoodness, there was not a food processor in the house large or heavy duty enough to do the job.  Sitting there, smiling at me, on the counter top, was my new BF in the kitchen the wonderful NutriBullet.  So if you want fresh grated horseradish and the bullet is all you have, here is what you do.  After washing and peeling the root cut it into manageable pieces and place a few at a time in the NutriBullet.  The process went faster than the food processor and I think I got a better consistency.

After the grating is done mix some of the horseradish with a touch of sea salt, raw sugar (just a pinch) and olive oil and distilled vinegar.  You will never again buy the stuff in the jar.

Five ingredients or less.

Freshly made mayo.  Five ingredients or less.

My second project was mayoFive ingredients or less was the theme for my weekend of fun in the kitchen. So we go back to the discussion of mayo.  Once again, corn and soy can be found in some of the best mayo sitting on the shelf in most markets.  Mayonnaise is a really simple and almost cheap condiment and oh so easy to make.  Five minutes of your time and here is another product you will not buy again.  I use olive oil (EVOO is not necessary), vinegar, dry or jarred mustard (I prefer the dry) salt, cayenne, 1 egg (for a cup of mayo) and boiling hot water.  As for the water, add a little at a time.  You can always add more, but trying to correct too much water may get a little sticky.  Adding oil to the mix will help sometimes.

One thing I love to do is separate the egg.  Using a hand blender at medium to high speed I mixed all the ingredients together with the egg and water.  I separated the egg and added the white in first.  Once the mix becomes thick and really white I drop in the yolk.  The boiling water is added at the very end.  Then, I put the mayo in a glass jar and placed the jar in the fridge.  Sometimes, the mix will appear a little watery. It will thicken up when it cools.  If the mayo does not thicken, use less vinegar water next time.

Project #3:  Now remember the horseradish, when the mayo is cool, using another container, add some of the fresh grated roots to some mayo.  Sprinkle in some cayenne pepper and stir.  This is really good with oysters, steaks or roast beef.   I have tried it with a baked potato.  Use your imagination; there are no limits to this sauce.   Yummo!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!    Enjoy

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

FrugElegance

where frugal & elegance come together

ashleyanchored

my journey in gluten free healthy living

Memoirs of a Mostly Together Mom

(Mis)Adventures of an ExPat family in Paris

Love Sorghum

Experiments with Sorghum and Talk about Celiac Disease

EATING WELL DIARY

A vegetarian's notes on healthy cooking

dreamernxtdoor

A fine WordPress.com site

My Botanical Garden

Tamara Jare blog around plants, art, culture

lalocabrujita

Zingendewoorden

Lesley Voth

Advice on frugal living, financial savings, debt reduction, empowerment, living better on less.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Tall. Black. One Sugar

Sometimes you have to hold your tongue, other times you have to say it as you see it.

Perceptive Pot Clueless Kettle

“To be yourself in a world that is constantly trying to make you something else is the greatest accomplishment.” Ralph Waldo Emerson

Stef Clendenen

voice artist, writer

This Is Not My World

a filmmaker's memoir in the making

unwind cooking

Cook and Unwind while Sipping a Glass of Wine

Bunny Kitchen

Exploring the possibilities of cruelty free food

