Skip to content

Molasses Sauce for Wings:

March 11, 2014

Molasses sauce for wings (or on anything you like) :

So I am out of tomatoes and tomato sauce. Here is my next gluten free recipe. I made absolutely sure the molasses bottle had the two grand words on it “gluten free”. Did you know that chocolates, balsamic vinegar, maple syrup, molasses and some mustard have soy, wheat and/or corn in them? Read your labels. As one of the people that cannot eat wheat. This is not because I am gluten but because I am wheat sensitive (some say allergic) I have to read everything. And boy do I take my big girl glasses when I shop for food. It is an education and not a bother or a chore. Because of this I am eating a lot more things that come from comes plants and not made in plants. Think about for a minute. I am also a healthier person then I was 10-20 years ago. If I cannot pronounce it, then it will not go into my mouth.

So for the super bowl evening I roasted wings in the oven using my seasoning mix and EVOO. First I washed the chicken and checked for feathers. After that is done I sprinkle on some EVOO and a tablespoon or two of my seasoning mix. I tossed all of this together and placed the chicken back in the fridge to marinate for several hours. Maybe it is just me, but I think marinated food takes less effort to cook and it comes out juicer, but I do use the same amount of cooking time when it comes to meats of any type whether marinated or not. Just got to make sure it is cooked through and through. So while the chicken is marinating I put together a wonderful sauce (even if I have to say so).

Tomato free sauce for wings or any type of meat

Molasses sauce for wings or any type of meat.

Preparing to store leftovers ~~ Molasses wings and sauce

Preparing to store leftovers ~~ Molasses wings and sauce

As for the sauce, the directions are simple and much of it is a according to your taste recipe. You will need the following ingredients for this recipe: molasses (unsulphured, gluten free); mustard (any kind, the hardier the better), vinegar, pepper flakes, black pepper, I also use my season mix, brown sugar (not too much), Tabasco sauce and/or jalapeño pepper sliced thinly (I keep my seeds when using these treasurers), water…

You will start with the molasses and mustard in a heavy (18/10) pan on low heat. Now I will toss in everything except the water and the vinegar at this time. Stir slowly and keep an eye on your pot. This is when it can become a winner or a whiner for you. With some care you can now taste and check the thickest of your sauce. I would add the vinegar now and check for seasoning. Some people will use apple cider vinegar but I think the good old white vinegar is best when cooking this sauce.

I bake/roast my chicken with EVOO and my seasoning mix and when the wings are done toss while hot into the warm sauce.  Allow to cool some before eating.  This is a sticky mess to eat but you will never order out once you master this.  Family and friends will come back for more so make a lot.  The leftovers are not bad.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 16, 2014 11:06

    Those wings look great!

Leave a Reply

FrugElegance

where frugal & elegance come together

ashleyanchored

my journey in gluten free healthy living

Memoirs of a Mostly Together Mom

(Mis)Adventures of an ExPat family in Paris

Love Sorghum

Experiments with Sorghum and Talk about Celiac Disease

EATING WELL DIARY

A vegetarian's notes on healthy cooking

dreamernxtdoor

A fine WordPress.com site

My Botanical Garden

Tamara Jare blog around plants, art, culture

lalocabrujita

Zingendewoorden

Lesley Voth

Advice on frugal living, financial savings, debt reduction, empowerment, living better on less.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Tall. Black. One Sugar

Sometimes you have to hold your tongue, other times you have to say it as you see it.

Perceptive Pot Clueless Kettle

“To be yourself in a world that is constantly trying to make you something else is the greatest accomplishment.” Ralph Waldo Emerson

Stef Clendenen

voice artist, writer

This Is Not My World

a filmmaker's memoir in the making

unwind cooking

Cook and Unwind while Sipping a Glass of Wine

Bunny Kitchen

Exploring the possibilities of cruelty free food

