Skip to content

What’s for Breakfast (Lunch)?

August 5, 2014

DSCF3484

I was in the middle of my prep stage when it came to me. I need to share this crazy breakfast so off I go for the camera and this is what I am having for breakfast. I am a nut about getting everything done early in the day so I usually start the day with a hearty if not heavy duty breakfast. This is my version of a rice bowl breakfast. Change the veggies to greens or some other tasty treat and now you will have an even better lunch.

This is a simple and easy dish to make. I usually have rice already in the fridge depending on the leftovers. Rice is such a versatile ingredient to have on hand and it goes in lots of dishes (fried rice, soups, desserts, etc). I normally cook a pot once a week and store in the fridge for those moments. Rice works for breakfast, lunch and dinner and is not a costly item to keep in the pantry.

 

DSCF3486 DSCF3485

With this dish you only need a few items and a good pan.

  • Rice
  • Egg(s)
  • Avocado
  • Turmeric
  • Hot sauce/Tabasco sauce
  • Salt and pepper to taste

 

Place one cup of rice in a microwavable dish with EVOO, turmeric and one half diced avocado and heat for one minute.   I like to whisk my egg(s) until light and fluffy. This gives the egg(s) an omelet like consistency, which makes for a nice presentation. Take you rice out of the microwave and place the egg(s) on top with the sauce. For an added kick to my dish I grate some Parmigiano-Reggiano while the dish is still hot.

DSCF3488

Breakfast Rice Bowl with Grated Parm

DSCF3489DSCF3487

I have used this dish for lunch but I use salad greens or a variety of mix veggies and I folded them in with while the eggs are cooking. For lunch if I am using cheese I grated the cheese directly into the pan just before folding the egg(s) over the veggies.

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 6, 2014 10:34

    Reblogged this on Kitchen Crazy and Lots of Fun and commented:

    Just in case you missed this one…

Leave a Reply

FrugElegance

where frugal & elegance come together

ashleyanchored

my journey in gluten free healthy living

Memoirs of a Mostly Together Mom

(Mis)Adventures of an ExPat family in Paris

Love Sorghum

Experiments with Sorghum and Talk about Celiac Disease

EATING WELL DIARY

A vegetarian's notes on healthy cooking

dreamernxtdoor

A fine WordPress.com site

My Botanical Garden

Tamara Jare blog around plants, art, culture

lalocabrujita

Zingendewoorden

Lesley Voth

Advice on frugal living, financial savings, debt reduction, empowerment, living better on less.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Tall. Black. One Sugar

Sometimes you have to hold your tongue, other times you have to say it as you see it.

Perceptive Pot Clueless Kettle

“To be yourself in a world that is constantly trying to make you something else is the greatest accomplishment.” Ralph Waldo Emerson

Stef Clendenen

voice artist, writer

This Is Not My World

a filmmaker's memoir in the making

unwind cooking

Cook and Unwind while Sipping a Glass of Wine

Bunny Kitchen

Exploring the possibilities of cruelty free food

