Skip to content

SOUP MADE EASY

September 15, 2014

 

 

Here’s an easy one for you. The weather is turning cooler and soup is in the air. Well, according to where I live. As I mentioned in an earlier blog, I love gadgets and one of my go to is my Ninja food processor. I woke up to a morning temp of 68 degrees with rain, and I am a happy camper. This means comfort food and soup is high on my list. As I searched the pantry and fridge for a quick and easy soup this is what I came up with:

 

Roasted sweet potatoes

Cabbage and bacon

Red beans

 

All of this may not sound yummy to you, but here is what I did with these items. First, I placed all of this in the Ninja food processor and milled it into a creamy consistency. I slowly added a combo of water and stock. You may use a liquid of your choice. I poured this into a large pot and continued to add liquid as needed. I added additional salt, pepper, EVOO (just a little goes a long way) and MSS to the mixture and brought it to a rapid boil. Then I lowered the temp and allowed the soup to simmer.

 

This ladies and gents is my sweet potato and bean soup. I cooked the cabbage earlier with several slices of bacon which gave the soup a hearty and smoky taste. The beans added a creamy texture to the soup and the sweet potatoes inserted another layer of flavor that just said yum.

DSCF3603

If you want to make this vegan try cooking the cabbage without the bacon by using liquid smoke, it will still be a wonderful soup.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

FrugElegance

where frugal & elegance come together

ashleyanchored

my journey in gluten free healthy living

Memoirs of a Mostly Together Mom

(Mis)Adventures of an ExPat family in Paris

Love Sorghum

Experiments with Sorghum and Talk about Celiac Disease

EATING WELL DIARY

A vegetarian's notes on healthy cooking

dreamernxtdoor

A fine WordPress.com site

My Botanical Garden

Tamara Jare blog around plants, art, culture

lalocabrujita

Zingendewoorden

Lesley Voth

Advice on frugal living, financial savings, debt reduction, empowerment, living better on less.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Tall. Black. One Sugar

Sometimes you have to hold your tongue, other times you have to say it as you see it.

Perceptive Pot Clueless Kettle

“To be yourself in a world that is constantly trying to make you something else is the greatest accomplishment.” Ralph Waldo Emerson

Stef Clendenen

voice artist, writer

This Is Not My World

a filmmaker's memoir in the making

unwind cooking

Cook and Unwind while Sipping a Glass of Wine

Bunny Kitchen

Exploring the possibilities of cruelty free food

