Skip to content

CREAMY AVOCADO SPREAD

December 19, 2014

Here is an interesting but true tasty treat. I used a rather large over ripe avocado for this recipe. When making this dish the avocado should be soft, this will allow for less work to cream the fruit. That’s right, the avocado is a fruit. I came across this recipe because I wanted a snack but I cannot have peanut butter, nor can I have most jellies and preserves due to the corn syrup or other icky sweeteners used to make these products.

DSCF3638

Creamy Avocado Spread

So here is how this one is done:

One rather soft large avocado, EVOO, pepper flakes, Tabasco sauce, a pinch of MSS, a dash of lemon or lime juice, salt and pepper to taste. Oh BTW, I also used several cherry peppers that I got off the deli/olive bar when I was picking up olives at the market.

I mashed the avocado to a creamy consistency and added just enough EVOO to keep it smooth, spreadable but not runny. I chopped the cherry peppers and added them with the remaining ingredients to the avocado mix. I suggest you place this in the fridge about an hour to allow it to chill before serving.

DSCF3637

How do I use this new found treat? I just happened to discovered rather tasty raisin rice bread. I toasted the bread and while it was still warm I spread the mixture on it — so heavenly.  Or at least close to it. Now, my buddy also decided to use it as a dip and bam, another hit was made. Here is another suggestion for using the dip. Try using it with any chips, toasted breads or served as a crudités,

DSCF3636

CREAMY AVOCADO SPREAD WITH RICE TOAST

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

FrugElegance

where frugal & elegance come together

ashleyanchored

my journey in gluten free healthy living

Memoirs of a Mostly Together Mom

(Mis)Adventures of an ExPat family in Paris

Love Sorghum

Experiments with Sorghum and Talk about Celiac Disease

EATING WELL DIARY

A vegetarian's notes on healthy cooking

dreamernxtdoor

A fine WordPress.com site

My Botanical Garden

Tamara Jare blog around plants, art, culture

lalocabrujita

Zingendewoorden

Lesley Voth

Advice on frugal living, financial savings, debt reduction, empowerment, living better on less.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Tall. Black. One Sugar

Sometimes you have to hold your tongue, other times you have to say it as you see it.

Perceptive Pot Clueless Kettle

“To be yourself in a world that is constantly trying to make you something else is the greatest accomplishment.” Ralph Waldo Emerson

Stef Clendenen

voice artist, writer

This Is Not My World

a filmmaker's memoir in the making

unwind cooking

Cook and Unwind while Sipping a Glass of Wine

Bunny Kitchen

Exploring the possibilities of cruelty free food

