Skip to content

Sunday Night Experiment… CHOPS

June 13, 2015

When it comes to pork I am a holiday type gal. For Memorial Day and the 4th of July it is ribs, wet and sloppy. And we all know Thanksgiving and Christmas calls for the mighty ham whether it is spiral or honey glaze it is a staple. But I came across another brain storm and decided this would be dinner and an experiment. I have a George Foremen electric grill and some liquid smoke. Before you shake your head this can work. My first step was to rub my chops with MSS as a dry rub and allow the chops to sit in the fridge for several hours. I than oiled my grill after it has reached the high point of heat and just a touch smoking. When it comes to the liquid smoke (LQS) there are several ways to do this: 1) place your LQS in a metal container and place the container on the grill allowing it to heat up and infuse the dome. 2) Brush your meat with the LQS (a little goes a very long way). 3) Pour the LQS on the grill. Placing the dome back on the grill and allow the steam and smell permeate the meat.

DSCF4153

DSCF4154

I heated the grill to about 500 degrees with the container of LQS on the grill. Once the grill began to smoke, I oiled the grill and placed the meat on the grill and covered with the dome cover. There is a slot on the dome to open which will allow the escape of some and steam. I choose to close this to keep as much of everything inside the dome. Allowing the meat to cook at high heat for five minutes only, lower the heat to 250 and I tried very hard not to lift the dome until I thought the LQS needed to be checked. The meat is going to be on the grill for a long time. I started at 5:30 and was finished by 8:00. As the time came closer to finishing, I began to drizzle the LQS onto the hot grill. What you will get as a finished product is not the highly salted dried out meat you purchase at the market. This is a subtle smoky flavor and a really moist serving of meat.
DSCF4156

DSCF4155

Next time I will try the indoor chips for smoking. Yes, there is such a thing. Even though I have yet to find this product, I researched and it is available. I did a little research and discovered there are such things as “indoors” and “outdoors” chips. Supposedly, it makes a big difference and next week I will search the markets for these chips and we will try that on the electric grill. Sounds like fun to me.
DSCF4157

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

FrugElegance

where frugal & elegance come together

ashleyanchored

my journey in gluten free healthy living

Memoirs of a Mostly Together Mom

(Mis)Adventures of an ExPat family in Paris

Love Sorghum

Experiments with Sorghum and Talk about Celiac Disease

EATING WELL DIARY

A vegetarian's notes on healthy cooking

dreamernxtdoor

A fine WordPress.com site

My Botanical Garden

Tamara Jare blog around plants, art, culture

lalocabrujita

Zingendewoorden

Lesley Voth

Advice on frugal living, financial savings, debt reduction, empowerment, living better on less.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Tall. Black. One Sugar

Sometimes you have to hold your tongue, other times you have to say it as you see it.

Perceptive Pot Clueless Kettle

“To be yourself in a world that is constantly trying to make you something else is the greatest accomplishment.” Ralph Waldo Emerson

Stef Clendenen

voice artist, writer

This Is Not My World

a filmmaker's memoir in the making

unwind cooking

Cook and Unwind while Sipping a Glass of Wine

Bunny Kitchen

Exploring the possibilities of cruelty free food

