Skip to content

FRESH HOMEMADE BAKED DOUGHHNUTS

June 18, 2015

DSCF4170

 

So I was looking for another project and this one came to mind. Father’s Day is around the corner and I decided to honor my Tuesday study group with a totally different treat. I have to give myself credit; this turned out a great success. I love some of the doughnut shop doughnuts and the freshly baked bakery doughnuts at the market place but I am not supposed to have doughnuts (flour). If I was really going to do this I had to take a few things in to consideration. First of all, the doughnuts could not be fried (didn’t want the messy); I had to have a really good recipe and it took some time finding the pans. I found several good recipes online but I decided to develop a recipe that would be good, easy and capable of changes. I used buttermilk, but that is not an etched in stone ingredient. I do love using sea salt. At first, the only way to I could find a pan was to order it. I am a need to look at and feel it person, so I called around until there was someone/place that had them in stock.

 

So here are my recipes:
• 2 cups all-purpose flour
• 1 cup sugar
• 2 teaspoons baking powder
• 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
• 1/2 teaspoon ground coriander or nutmeg
• 1/2 teaspoon sea salt
• 1 extra-large egg, lightly beaten
• 1 1/4 cups buttermilk
• 2 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted
• 2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract

 

• Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. If needed, spray or lightly grease 2 doughnut pans. I prefer using the nonstick pans.
• This is my method of doing things. Using a standing mixer I place the flour, baking powder, cinnamon, coriander, and salt into the bowl and aerate the dry ingredients. Using a hand mix in a small bowl, I whisk together the egg, sugar, milk, melted butter, and vanilla. Pour the wet mixture into the dry ingredients and mix until just combined.
• Spoon the batter into the baking pans, filling each one about three-quarters full. Bake for 17 minutes or until a baker’s pick comes out clean. Allow to cool for 5 minutes, and then flip the doughnuts onto a cooling rack.
• This will make a dozen doughnuts, therefore I double the recipe and there are very few left for afternoon tea.  

TOPPINGS

#1
Crusty glaze
• 4 tablespoons (1/2 stick) unsalted butter
• ½ cup sugar
• ½ teaspoon ground cinnamon
For the topping, melt the butter using a microwave oven. Combine the sugar and cinnamon with the melted butter in a small bowl. Dip each doughnut in the mixture. I prefer one sided dipping but you can do both sides. If you glaze, harden or cool return the dish to the microwave oven for a few seconds.

#2
Cinnamon and regular sugar
• ½ cup sugar
• 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
Simple and easy, mix the ingredients in a zip lock bag and shake. Depending on the size of your bag drop one to three doughnuts at a time.

#3
Confectioners’ sugar
This is the easiest of all toppings. Place sugar in a zip lock bag and drop doughnuts into the bake and shake. Make sure to shake off excess sugar.

Depending on your taste is how you decorate your doughnuts and what you do to enhance the batter. This was such an easy recipe I am sure you will enjoy making, decorating and eating the doughnuts. Enjoy.

DSCF4169

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

FrugElegance

where frugal & elegance come together

ashleyanchored

my journey in gluten free healthy living

Memoirs of a Mostly Together Mom

(Mis)Adventures of an ExPat family in Paris

Love Sorghum

Experiments with Sorghum and Talk about Celiac Disease

EATING WELL DIARY

A vegetarian's notes on healthy cooking

dreamernxtdoor

A fine WordPress.com site

My Botanical Garden

Plants in garden and in art

lalocabrujita

Zingendewoorden

Lesley Voth

Advice on frugal living, financial savings, debt reduction, empowerment, living better on less.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Tall. Black. One Sugar

Sometimes you have to hold your tongue, other times you have to say it as you see it.

Perceptive Pot Clueless Kettle

“To be yourself in a world that is constantly trying to make you something else is the greatest accomplishment.” Ralph Waldo Emerson

Stef Clendenen

voice artist, writer

The Jittery Goat

short stories and other stuff

This Is Not My World

a filmmaker's memoir in the making

unwind cooking

Cook and Unwind while Sipping a Glass of Wine

Bunny Kitchen

Exploring the possibilities of cruelty free food

