Skip to content

GrandMa’s Dirty Rice (My Version of Fried Rice)

July 6, 2015

There is not much I can eat in a Chinese’s restaurant but I do love the white rice and most time they give entirely too much of it when we order (takeouts). I finally came up with a way to savor the moment.
For my fried rice I gather all of the veggies in the fridge and have at it. There are mushrooms, bell peppers (of all colors), cherry or grape tomatoes, capers and some of the liquid from the jar and any green thing in the freezer (broccoli or spinach etc.). as you know to keep myself safe I use EVOO instead of peanut oil and MSS to keep away from garlic and onions.

DSCF4159

First I tossed the veggies in a rather large pot (I make a lot of this.) with EVOO and MSS and of course the rice is fully cooked, but I sauté it with EVOO and MSS, also, after removing the veggies from the pot. This can be a veggie or vegan dish depending on the stock I use when cooking this. This time I decided chicken cooking stock which I added to the pot after everything was married and the seasoning was as close to perfect as possible. So cook your veggies and remove them from the pot. Toss in the rice, and season well. Toss the veggies back into the pot with the rice and check the seasoning. If you can handle the soy now is the time you will add soy sauce to the pot. Once everything is bubbling, now add in the stock and the amount added depends on your taste.

Enjoy !!!!!!!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

FrugElegance

where frugal & elegance come together

ashleyanchored

my journey in gluten free healthy living

Memoirs of a Mostly Together Mom

(Mis)Adventures of an ExPat family in Paris

Love Sorghum

Experiments with Sorghum and Talk about Celiac Disease

EATING WELL DIARY

A vegetarian's notes on healthy cooking

dreamernxtdoor

A fine WordPress.com site

My Botanical Garden

Tamara Jare blog around plants, art, culture

lalocabrujita

Zingendewoorden

Lesley Voth

Advice on frugal living, financial savings, debt reduction, empowerment, living better on less.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Tall. Black. One Sugar

Sometimes you have to hold your tongue, other times you have to say it as you see it.

Perceptive Pot Clueless Kettle

“To be yourself in a world that is constantly trying to make you something else is the greatest accomplishment.” Ralph Waldo Emerson

Stef Clendenen

voice artist, writer

This Is Not My World

a filmmaker's memoir in the making

unwind cooking

Cook and Unwind while Sipping a Glass of Wine

Bunny Kitchen

Exploring the possibilities of cruelty free food

